T  E  S  T  I  M  O  N  I  A  L  S

“To put it simply, our experience with James as our wedding photographer in September 2013 was nothing short of perfect. Not only did we end up with the most gorgeous wedding photos I’ve ever seen, but he was such a joy to work with and made the whole experience entirely stress-free.

The planning: James was the most responsive vendor we had from day one. We were planning from across the country and didn’t meet him until the day before the wedding, but he made me feel so comfortable during the planning process, I was never worried. He gave advice without pressure and catered to what we envisioned for the day.
The day of: He scouted the perfect locations ahead of time and gave us such a great variety with a good mix of artsy and classic. We have a tendency to be more awkward than elegant, but James made it seem so easy to just be ourselves. It never felt suffocating or unnatural and that truly shines through in the photos.

The photos: I swear I’m not just a biased bride. Every person I’ve gushed about them to has wholeheartedly agreed. I don’t even recognize myself in some of the photos – I have never felt so beautiful as I do looking back at the photos. James’ vision and timing are spot on to capture every special moment without ever making you feel like you have a camera in your face.

Last but not least, the terms: Pricing is affordable. Actually it is quite a steal for the level of craftsmanship and professionalism. And having the full photo rights is more important than you might think initially. Seriously, how wonderful to have the entire progression of the day instead of just a handful of someone else’s taste in best shots.

James is a true artist and will be one of the best decisions you make for your wedding.”

Nicole W.

Valparaiso, IN via Wedding Wire and Yelp


“Amazing work!

My husband and I were in need of a photographer for our wedding. During our engagement I had researched many photographers and had sat down with a handful. I hadn’t found the perfect fit for our wedding. It was very important for us to find a photographer that we clicked with and felt comfortable. This is because we knew we would share one of the most intimate and special days in our lives with the photographer.

We met James at the Bridal Expo in Del Mar. Although I had attended the prior Bridal Expo. I was determined to find a day of planner and a photographer. I had set my expectations high and wouldn’t settle for anything less. I immediately fell in LOVE with Jame’s work.

My husband and I sat down with James in person and had booked him. James made us feel comfortable during our wedding. I never once felt that someone was lurking over us and taking pictures. Our pictures came out amazing!

I would book him again if I ever need a photographer. He is the best! I would refer James to anyone looking for great experience and most importantly amazing pictures!”

Marissa H.

Ventura, CA via Yelp


“I cannot say enough great things about James and Masterwork Weddings. Upon first meeting with James, he was very kind and open to what we were hoping to have in a photographer. All of our experiences with him were absolutely great. He even was kind enough to go out of his way to meet up at the venue a month or so prior to the wedding. This was great, as he was also willing to take a couple photos for us that we were able to frame and give as gifts.

The day was such a whirlwind, and James was very accommodating to us. He even showed up a little early (and I’m sure stayed a little late). Looking at the photo’s we have we were both AMAZED at what he was able to capture, while not being intrusive in the slightest. Our guests even commented about his great personality. All of our photo’s turned out absolutely fantastic. He’s a great person, with an amazing book of work. Would HIGHLY recommend.”

Joe B.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


M & G Card- final


“If you are looking for an amazing photographer to capture your wedding…look no further. James shot our wedding at Green Gables Wedding Estate in San Marcos on August 4, 2012, and we could not have been happier with his work.

James is a very humble, down-to-earth guy, who let’s his work speak for itself. As soon as we met James, we could tell he was a great guy. He just seemed very genuine which is hard to come across these days, especially in SoCal. He scouted our venue with us to look at the lighting and to get ideas for the kinds of shots he was going to take. He was very patient in answering our questions and making sure we were comfortable.

On our wedding day, James and his assistant were extremely professional and made everyone getting their photos taken at our wedding feel at ease. By the time we got back from our honeymoon, we had already received 4 CDs in the mail with our photos.

Masterwork Weddings did an amazing job photographing our wedding, and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for an amazing photographer to capture their big day.”

Lisa H.

Vista, CA via Yelp


“James was our photographer for our wedding this past summer! He did a GREAT job!!!

We met James at a bridal show and was instantly impressed by the photos he displayed. We later scheduled a meeting with him at a coffee shop and he explained to us how he wanted to create some unique photos for us and offered a GREAT deal. We met with 4 other photographers BEFORE meeting him (so we did our homework :)) We had our engagement photos, wedding day photos turn out GREAT! James is a down to earth guy, extremely friendly, and someone my husband and I would recommend to anyone looking for a wedding photographer.”

Christina S.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“We got married August 2011 in San Diego, California. We found James at a San Diego Wedding Expo and after speaking to him and his wife I knew he is the perfect match for our wedding. We wanted a very laid back atmosphere during the day and that’s what James brought with his photography. He met with us a few times before the wedding and we were very impressed. Our engagement photos were done by the beach and he met us in Orange County where we live. Our engagement photos were so easy and we enjoyed every moment. We didn’t even know James was around during the shoot.

All I wanted for my wedding day was a fun atmosphere all day long. James listened and delivered everything I asked for. I had a big bridal party and everyone loved James. My coordinators were not so great and it helped that he had a schedule of all the photos we wanted which made it much easier for me. He was very easy to talk to and helped us find great places to take pictures.

Our wedding was an amazing day and if you want a photographer who is easy to work with and has great packages that are very affordable Masterwork Weddings is the photographer for you. He is amazing at making you feel special and the photos show it. I highly recommend James for anyone who wants great photos and a day that will run smooth on your biggest and most exciting day!!!!”

Maryam F.

Irvine, CA via Yelp


“James (Masterwork Weddings) delivered a fantastic book of wedding memories and was a pleasure to work with in the run up to and on the day of our 2012 wedding. As others have pointed out, his personality is wonderful; he is calm, collected, friendly, relaxed, and professional, all traits that we gravitated towards when we met him at the Bridal Bazaar and all traits that made his presence at our wedding a very welcome one. Well, that and the fact that he actually (discretely) hurdled a few bushes to get the best shots during our wedding ūüôā James took some really nice pictures of our wedding that we will always cherish!”

Kate O.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


2


“My husband and I were married at The Thursday Club on April 6, 2013, and if there’s one piece of advice we can give to ANY bride and groom, it’s to hire James as your photographer (also–get married at The Thursday Club.). I met him at the Bridal Bazaar about a ¬†year before our wedding, and I loved that he wasn’t up in anyone’s face–he stood by his booth with a welcoming smile and let his photos speak for themselves, which they absolutely did. My husband and I met with him and we instantly clicked–we booked him that day for an engagement shoot that took place a few months later. We did Balboa Park and the beach and just got the most beautiful pictures, thanks to James and his willingness to do whatever it takes to get a great picture. Seriously……..we wanted a picture of us on the beach, and James was so dedicated that he got in the ocean–FULLY CLOTHED -to take a picture. (PS–our favorite engagement picture is my yelp main profile picture!). We booked him immediately after. We really, really loved him after that day–we felt like we were walking around Balboa with a friend. He is so kind, so easy to talk to…just an all-around good person. Plus, he’s very experienced and had shot at our venue before and knew all the good spots.

The months leading up to the wedding with James were a breeze–we originally booked the 8 hour package but after some debate decided we wanted his all-day package (both INCREDIBLY reasonably -priced considering he is as good if not BETTER than a lot of the San Diego photographers that charge upwards of $3000 for an all-day package). We talked a few weeks before my wedding and he helped me develop a good day-of timeline for pictures and the day in general. He was SO helpful, I can’t stress that enough. The day of our wedding, he was there on time, got all the shots, and was truly a calming presence in a crazy day. We got the most BEAUTIFUL pictures. My officiant was 30 minutes late to the ceremony and no one could get a hold of her (my fault–I had told her the wrong time! OMG) and I was hyperventilating in my bridal room…James came in and looked me in the eye and told me it would all be fine, it will all work out, and the worst case scenario is that our guests will have to wait a little bit longer in the beautiful San Diego weather. I will never, ever forget that moment and that genuine moment of compassion he showed to calm me down. After the ceremony, when all the fun began, James was so awesome. He did the same thing as in the engagement shoot–wherever he had to go to get a good shot, he did it. He got some truly amazing shots of our details–I started crying when we looked our pictures when we got them back. He had such cool ways of showing our details…hanging my earrings on the tree trunk in front of our venue, putting our “thank you” place cards on one of the cool wrought iron things at our venue…it was different and so beautiful and cool.

Another thing–we had our pictures back about two weeks after our wedding! We came back from our honeymoon and James had them in the mail several days later….all of our friends who were married were shocked because it took quite some time to get theirs back! I bragged that our photographer was the best, because he truly is.

If you’ve read through this novel of a review for James, I hope I’ve been able to convey how amazing we thought he was, and how much of an important part of our wedding day he was. (We loved him so much we asked him to take a “selfie” with us at our reception!) We would 100% recommend him to everyone, if you’re looking for an extraordinary photographer with attention to detail who is one of the nicest people ever.”

Christina B.

Encinitas, CA via Yelp


“James did the photography for our wedding in September 2011. All our friends and family loved our photos. James was great, we met in person to discuss the event and the imagery we wanted. James was very flexible with working with us and understood that we were on a budget. He showed us several albums containing some of his work and told us in detail how his pricing worked. He has several wedding packages to fit your needs.

My husband thought he was a trustworthy, down to earth guy and liked his photos.
James scouted out the location of our wedding ceremony  and the location where we wanted the bridal party photos taken before our wedding date. He looks at all the small details to ensure that your images will be flawless.

We felt very happy with our decision to go with James and even more happy once we saw all our pictures. We received the CD with all the images and  the copyright around 2 weeks after our wedding so we were able to print out the photos we wanted.
I still have friends and family asking me to see our wedding photos and/or asking for prints.

I would recommend him to any friends interested in high quality photos.”

Rosella G.

El Cajon, CA via Yelp


3


“Our experience with James (Masterwork Weddings) began almost a year before our wedding when we found him during a bridal event. We knew exactly what we were looking for and for almost 3 hours of complete exhaustion walking from booth to booth we were really starting to get defeated and worried we’d never find anyone and would have to settle on whoever was available for our date. Masterwork Weddings was our last (truly) last stop. This unassuming table displayed what was most important, the photography! The photos were absolutely gorgeous and after meeting James, the man behind the lenses, knew we needed to work with him. The passion with which he spoke of his work was very genuine and really put us at ease….finding a photographer was one of the most important aspects of the wedding for us.

We met with James a week later where he presented more of his work and booked our date! The wedding being literally a year away we’d be in touch a little here and there, and he was always super responsive to any of our questions/concerns, anything! When it got closer and closer to the date, you know when the stress starts kicking in, he made us feel very at ease. We knew that the photography would be well taken care of.

Finally the big day, the morning was mayhem of course, but as soon as we got to the venue and saw James and the rest of our amazing team, we knew it was time to just enjoy. The men were shot first, and looking back at those pictures, it looked like they had so much fun. The women next and then just the two of us. It’s really important to feel comfortable with your photographer and while it might have been a bit strange at first (it’s been a while since our modeling days!) it didn’t take long to almost forget he was capturing these very personal moments. James stayed long into the night and got so many really amazing shots. He was very much a part of the wedding, however he was so professional and just darn good, he completely blended into the fun to capture the genuine emotions without anyone feeling like they were just getting their pictures taken √† la paparazzo style.

James mailed CDs of our photos a little over a week after the wedding, which was perfect because we were able to enjoy them before the grooms family returned home to France. We are so proud and so so happy with our photos. We were so lucky to have run into James at that Bridal Event. It’s because of his photos that we can relieve that day every time we pick up our album and we are so appreciative of him for that.”

Jasmine and Eric P.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“The pictures are AMAZING!!! We love them, there are so many we like it’s really hard to pick which ones we want to frame lol : -) ¬†If at anytime you need a reference, please pass my contact along.”

(MWW- As noted above, if you’d like Mike’s contact please email me)

Mike L.

San Diego, CA via email


“Planning a wedding is tedious. ¬†Every bride would like to have the best and perfect wedding. This means you have to have the best vendors/team to make this happen! I can say I have the team that made my wedding fabulous! WE have the BEST photographer, James! I met him at the bridal bazaar here in San Diego. Out of numerous photographers at the bazaar he is the only one who stood out.. WHY is that? Couple of things.. He is not pushy; he’s got an eye for everything and can see it from his work. Beautiful sunny San Diego weather is a place for a great shoot, but who can beat a photographer with a skill where he can make a cloudy weather to a beautiful and phenomenal photo shoot and the outcome of work is AMAZING! Above all James is so easy to work with! He made it so easy for us from engagement photo shoot to our wedding day. He listens and very attentive, he made us feel so comfortable to every shoot and never pressured us on doing what we are not comfortable of doing.. He has an eye for the BEST shot. HE CAPTURES PRICELESS MOMENTS.. ¬†of happiness and love where no directions of pose like you see in magazines but MEMORIES THAT WILL LAST FOREVER. He is our guy and will use him when we have kids and would like him to be our family photographer. You guys are in good hands with James!”

Nathalie L. 

Pacific Beach, CA via Yelp


L&Cw2


“It takes an act of god, or a determined fiance to pull me away from a NASCAR race, especially the Daytona 500. ¬†But with deadlines afoot and a wedding around the corner, my options were limited. ¬†
So there we were on a beautiful Sunday afternoon.  Just me, miles away from my dearest sporting event, my fiance and James.  The location: a beautiful oak grove in the vicinity of Poway, CA.  What I expected to be a long, drawn out escapade of cheesy smiles, flash photography and pre-meditated gestures of love turned out to be one of the most enjoyable experiences of our wedding planning endeavor.
James showed up on point, receptive to our ideas yet ready to expound on his creative professionalism. ¬†We started out with some fun shots, ones that let us characterize who we really are as a couple. ¬†James let us roam free with our romance, and in the middle of a forested grove, he conjured up magic. ¬†As we moved to different wardrobes and venues, James rolled with the punches. ¬†He stayed on top of the lighting just as much as our dwindling energy after shooting for 2+ hours. ¬†Always an optimist, he was compassionate about his work and wouldn’t settle for anything less than amazing.
I couldn’t be happier with the finished product James provided, nor the means to the art that he is so very good at. There will always be another race, but engagement photos only happen once. In the end we captured a beautiful moment in time and in essence the magic of our love. ¬†Thank you James for conjuring up your professionalism and imagination to make our engagement photos everything we ever dreamed of!”

Joshua A.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“We hired James for our August 2012 wedding. James made planning our wedding photography very simple and stress free. He was extremely patient, always answering my millions of questions, and was very communicative making sure that I felt comfortable and had all my answers. What I really appreciated in the weeks before the wedding was that he drove an hour to scope out our venue with my groom and me so we had an idea of what to expect. James calm and confident attitude eased any photography stress a bride would have.

During the big day James did an amazing job capturing all the big moments. He was discreet and methodical in his approach. I gave James a list of all the photos that we wanted, group shots, family shots, exc.. and he capture them all. And when I needed him to take a spur of the moment photo, he was there ready to shoot. He made sure that we got all the shoots we wanted before the night ended.

One of the best experiences with James was the speed at which we receiving all the photos on CDs. And I loved that he gave us all the large quality files, they are mine to keep and do what I want with. I did not have to sieve through thousands of proofs… I was able to get my photos printed on my own and share them with friends and family immediately!! James gave us amazing photographs that just summed up our wedding day. ¬†He truly has a talent for capturing the people, the place, and moment.”

Lisa W.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“James shot our wedding in June 2013. ¬†We were extremely pleased with James before during and after the event. ¬†His pricing is excellent and more importantly his photos came out amazing.”

Lisa M.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“I highly recommend James! He was so wonderful to work with. James listened to¬†what my husband and I wanted and then he did as we asked. ¬†Because it was a second marriage for both myself and my husband we didn’t want to spend a lot¬†of time away from our party and guests to take photo’s, however we did want to¬†capture the wedding and reception with photographs. James did just that. He seemed to be everywhere! ¬†His photos are beautiful. We couldn’t be happier.

Sharlene M.

Escondido, CA via Yelp


4


“We hired James to be the photographer for our wedding in June 2012. We met him at a Wedding Expo in San Diego earlier that year. ¬†As we looked through his amazing photos and spoke with James about his photography experience, we noted that his calm, thoughtful demeanor quickly separated him from other photographers we had previously met. He was so easy to talk to and it was evident through his professional, yet caring manner that he honestly LOVES his work and by his nature wants the best for you! We knew right then we had found our guy!

James met with us a month before our wedding to scout out the locations (both ceremony and reception) for the best possible outcome! He was very flexible, really listened for what we wanted and at the same time he was professional by giving us his expert opinion!

On the day of our wedding he was punctual, professional and made the photo sessions easy and FUN for all of us!!! He made everyone feel at ease and very comfortable!

James is very detail oriented, easy going, trustworthy, and reliable! He is such a phenomenal photographer!!! We highly recommend him to everyone!!!

All of our photos turned out to be AMAZING!!! James captured great moments and made our special day memorable forever and for that we will always be thankful for him!!!”

Ildi and Jason C.

San Marcos, CA via Yelp


“Hi James! We received the discs on Saturday, the pictures turned out great! You did an amazing job at capturing the entire day, thank you! You really captured everything, the people, the scenery, the decorations and even wrote our names in the sand! We really appreciate it and couldn’t be happier with the results! I can’t believe it’s all over, it was such a pleasure getting to know you and working with you. Don’t be surprised if you get a phone call when there are some baby Bells to capture!! ¬†: ¬†)

I checked out the page on Facebook, I love how you put the pictures together! Thanks for EVERYTHING, you definitely went above and beyond for us and we truly appreciate it all.”

Lindsey B.

San Diego, CA via email


“James shot our wedding September 21st 2013. ¬†From the moment we met for the first time we made up our mind that we wanted to work with him for our wedding. ¬†He was professional and made sure we had all the details ironed out for the days prior to engagement pictures and wedding day.
We met James at the bridal bazaar.  He was not pushy at all and most important his work was incredible.  His prices were very reasonable and he made sure to explain all the packages for us in detail.
The engagement pictures were taken in balboa park.  He did an amazing job and got us our photos within weeks after we took our shots.  He is very talented and did a amazing job with his creativity.
We hired him for an entire day and it was well worth it.  He was very pleasant with family and friends and made sure everyone was comfortable as he took shots.  He works the crowd and makes sure everyone is involved throughout the evening.
The ceremony pictures and reception were outstanding!   We had our wedding at el cortez and James was the perfect fit for our venue.  His vision and passion for hat he does is mesmerizing!
We received our photos within weeks as were very happy with the results. ¬†James is amazing and I highly recommend him to any future bride and groom!”

Genaro A. 

Chula Vista, CA via Yelp


5


“I’ve been meaning to write this review for a little while, but as anyone who just got married can attest, the times before and after your wedding can be so hectic that you can barely get through your “to do” lists.

Now to the point, James is an amazing photographer and such a sweet man. ¬†Our pictures came out incredibly beautiful and we couldn’t have asked for a more delightful person to do the job.

Obviously we loved having him at our wedding and hope that he felt like one of our cherished guests as well as our photographer. ¬†I can’t tell you how many of our friends and family came up to me to express how lovely they thought he was. That day surpassed my expectations and is, by far, the best day I’ve ever had; and I’m so happy that James was, not only, able to share in it, but to have been the one to capture all those memories for us truly means a lot.”

Audrey L.

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“Hi James,

I’ve been meaning to email or call you. We LOVE the photos! Eddie and I stayed in Friday night to start going through them together. We wanted to take our time and look at each one on the big screen TV ¬†: )

We still have the last two DVD’s that we haven’t viewed yet.

I can tell that you spent a lot of time preparing them for us and we are so appreciative! We are having trouble deciding on favorites b/c we like so many of them.

I feel honored that you entered our photo for the contest. That’s cool they choose it as a finalist! I just voted ¬†: )”

Eddie and Lisa, 

San Diego, CA via email


“Hi James!

Can I just say, REALLY?!?! REALLY?! Those five pictures you sent over are GORGEOUS!!! I’m freaking out and absolutely cannot wait to see the rest of them! Yes, I’m so excited that every sentence deserves an exclamation point! ¬†= D

Obviously we loved having you at our wedding and I hope that you felt like you were one of our cherished guests as well as our photographer. You were such a joy to have around – I can’t tell you how many of our friends and family came up to me to express how lovely they though you were. That day surpassed my expectations and is, by far, the best day I’ve ever had; and I’m so happy that you were, not only, able to share in it, but to have been the one to capture all those memories for us truly means a lot.

I can’t wait to see everything you caught on film! Thank you again! ¬†= )”

Audrey L.

Santa Monica, CA via email


“…I wanted to tell you how happy we are with you!! You along with our officiant were our favorite people/vendors to work with!! You were so professional and I know you worked hard for us all day long!! We are zoo appreciative of that!! ¬†Thank you!!!”

Annie R.

San Diego, via email


6


“How do we even begin to thank you for all you’ve done for us!!! You are an amazing photographer and I have never been happier that my bridesmaids and I found you at the Bridal Bazaar!!! Thank you for being so patient and relaxed on our day and making sure we were okay! Every family member and friend at our wedding had nothing but great things to say about you! Our bridal party loved you and the guys could not stop talking about their time with you at the train station. You helped our day run smooth and you kept us on track.

Thank you for helping with the itinerary and taking amazing photos. Doug and I want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts and we were very lucky to have you so that we could enjoy every minute of our day! We will never forget what you have done for us and will do everything in our power to refer you to as many people as we know. Thanks again and we will keep in touch. BTW the pictures on your facebook are awesome! I will make sure to share them with everyone!”

Doug and Maryam F.

Irvine, CA via email


“Hi James! First of all I want you to know how great your work is and thank you for devoting so much time to our day. I just received a compliment from a friend today on you! You did a fantastic job and the pics on the website look beautiful- your work is superb!”

Anne E.

Pacific Beach, CA via email


“James! We received the picture DVD’s on Saturday! Soooooo happy with the way they turned out. They are absolutely perfect. Thank you for all of your hard work and creativity…amazing! We’ve shared the photos with our family and they are so happy with how they turned out. It makes us really proud to show them off!”

Eric and Jasmine P.

San Diego, CA via email


7


“James took our engagement photos and also shot our wedding. ¬†We met with him a couple of times and felt like we got to know him – he is a geniuinely nice guy! ¬†It was a complete pleasure working with him. ¬†He spent hours with us for the engagement session and the pictures came out beautiful. ¬†It was a great day and we have amazing pictures to remember it by. ¬†

On our wedding day, he started early and was one of the last to leave, capturing all of the days events, the guests, the ambience and the joy of the day.  Once again, the pictures turned out amazing, the hardest part is there are too many good ones that it gets overwhelming trying to figure out which ones to print!  

James is professional, prompt to reply to questions and a great person to work with – someone that I would definitely count on again at my wedding!”

Curtis and Lindsey 

San Diego, CA via Yelp


“The photos are AMAZING!!! We absolutely enjoyed having you as part of our day and having awesome pictures was one of the most important things to us outside the love we share : )”

Sean and Jenny B.

San Diego, CA via email


“James was a wonderful photographer to work with. We are so happy with how our wedding photos turned out. It was a real pleasure having him there as part of our special day and he did a great job capturing every moment.”

Sean and Jennifer 

San Diego, CA via Yelp


IMG_7764


James Maciariello ¬† ¬† ¬†őô ¬† ¬† ¬†MASTERWORK WEDDINGS¬† ¬† ¬† őô ¬† ¬† ¬†james@masterworkweddings.com¬† ¬† ¬†¬†őô ¬† ¬† ¬†949.351.3189